GURPS Spaceships Now Out of Print

May 13, 2009 at 8:12 AM (GURPS, Roleplaying, RPG) (, , )

Rules for spaceship construction and combat

Rules for spaceship construction and combat

I never quite got the incredibly short print runs of SJGames. GURPS Space, probably the best source book I’ve ever seen hands down (hell, it would be good for writing pulp fiction, let alone our ass backwards RPGs), up and went out of print right before I was about to buy it. This lead me to an adventure on ebay (land of the lost) to locate the book.

Yes, I know one can just purchase the PDF’s, which I honestly think are great. It’s nice to be able to simply print out a page or two for quick reference; but those things are BRUTAL for whole sourcebooks. It boggles my mind that people actually buy the basic set and print it out themselves. Considering the PDF’s are only $10 cheaper, the price for printing it out at home suddenly skyrockets.

Honestly, I’d love to give my money to SJGames vs. some schmoe on Ebay. I’ve written software which I’ve sold myself, so I understand how valuable even just *one* sale feels. But with sourcebooks being cut (or replaced from hardcovers to the ass-biscuit flavoured softcovers), it simply feels like a race. I’m poor; I cant run in this race.

Here’s hoping the GURPS Mysteries sourcebook doesn’t go OOP soon either (it’s AWESOME; softcover tho).

Jarvis

Leave a Reply

